Research (5): Plugins

I thought at this stage it would be useful to explore plugins and themes I could use while in my website, so I conducted research to explore what kind of plugins were available in regards to extending and enhancing bootstrap.

This article titled “50 Must-have plugins for extending Twitter Bootstrap” was a useful place to start as it detailed a huge range of plugins that I could potentially use. Although some were not relevant to my website, such as creating a database, it was interesting to read about the range and I have decided to incorporate Bic_Calendar into my site.

I was intending to incorporate a calendar, however was unsure about how to do this. Bic_Calendar provides an easy and clean creative-commons calendar plugin to solve this issue. A reason I chose to use this plugin is because it has three different options for event details – which are different colours. I want my calendar to display all the information without the user having to navigate away so I will be using the blue feature.

An additional feature I want to include on my website is an image slider. Thankfully there is a range of image slider plugins available, but it is imperative that the slider on my site is responsive.

WowSlider is a responsive slider I came across in my research, but it has to be installed onto the computer. This may not be suitable as I plan to develop the site at university and I don’t have installation privileges. It has a lot of different options, however, which is beneficial.

dbpasCarousel is another slider I came across while researching plugins. It is interesting, as you can put text into a slider, but it is kinda ugly with the large lines (which I am trying to avoid in bootstraps native slider).

I have ultimately decided to use lightSlider as it is not too busy, has customisable options, is responsive, and seems easy to install.

 

At this stage these are the only two plugins I think I will be using, however I have not fully started coding yet so am still unsure. I may extend the website further by using additional plugins, but I tend to have ideas on how to do this while I am coding.

Leave a Reply

